Doin' It Halfway Since 1996

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus

Unplugged.

I’ve been absent for quite awhile.

My local friends know that I’m still around. My family still hears from me occasionally. I still update my facebook statuses.

But for some reason, I’ve needed to take a break from the online world. I haven’t really been tweeting. And I most certainly haven’t been posting.

Homeschooling is keeping me busy. I remember a few years ago, when I began seriously consider whether or not homeschooling was the path our family should take, another mom who I really respected told me, “Homeschooling is a big deal. It’s such a big deal, that many things you once considered essential to your life become less so. You have to choose what’s important. When you homeschool, your child’s education must be at the forefront of your life.”

Another homeschooling friend who I’ve met more recently, told me BEFORE she started homeschooling, “I think that when you homeschool, you better be able to provide your child as good as, no, an even better education, than they can get with the alternative.” (which, in both our cases, is public school).

I’ve taken those two statements to heart. Because I know how important her education is AND because I want her to be the best her possible, homeschooling trumps the blog (she’s reading beautifully, by the way – which was one of my big goals for her this year).

Another reason I’ve been absent is because I started a series based on poster prompts about grace from People of the Second Chance.

To be honest, I haven’t felt very gracious lately. I dislike hypocrites. And I don’t want to be one. So I just haven’t been posting about grace.

I’m sitting here tonight, contemplative, though.

While my kids wind down from Awanas, I thought I’d write a little bit.

I only crossed two things off my to-do list today; the list had about twenty items on it.

Having a picnic lunch was not on that list. But, it’s what we did. Because the weather was nice today. Because my kids begged for us to do it. Because my life isn’t about crossing things off my to-do list.

I forget that a lot. But I really need to remember it.

Had I failed to jump at the opportunity to let my kids eat their lunch on a picnic blanket in the front yard, I’d have missed this conversation:

“Mom, what does ‘wet blanket’ mean?”

“It means that someone isn’t very much fun.”

“You’re a wet blanket.”

“Well, if I were a wet blanket, then we wouldn’t be having a picnic lunch outside today, now would we?”

“Oh. Well, you’re a dry blanket.”

And then I laughed. Which I haven’t done a lot of lately. Conversations like that are good for the soul. Conversations like that only happen when I stop worrying about all I have to do and just let life happen.

Have you had any “letting life happen” moments lately?

One response to “Unplugged.

  1. mangiabella November 8, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    i’ve been reminded so much over the last two years of the importance of just living and loving and going with the flow ~ I’ve been on this journey of simplifying and making more time for “more time” – how refreshing for the soul it has been!!!! kudos to you ~ it reminds me of a post from Leo Babauta http://zenhabits.net/38/ when he talked about ditching “the list” that we hold ourselves captive to…..praying for a peaceful wonderful purposeful week for you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

