Doin' It Halfway Since 1996

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus

Homeroom Mom Email

Okay, so I am the homeroom parent for my daughter’s class. I sort of kinda volunteered to help, and apparently, no one else wanted to do it, so they gave the responsibility to me by default. They apparently didn’t read my blog. That I’m kind of halfway. And I have a hard time with follow through. Oh well. The Fall Party went off without a hitch. So I guess I can finish some things well.

Anyway – it’s that time of year when lots of things go on at elementary schools. And email is the most convenient form of communication in situations like these. So I wrote this email to the parents of the class last night.

I’ve been wanting to post it on my blog all day, but have had restraint until now. I don’t know why I want to post it. Maybe because so much of what I’ve put out there has been serious lately. And I’m not always so serious. So here’s a lighter side to me.

This is so random. And it’s not really going to challenge you to do anything (except for maybe buy a Snuggie). It’s not going to make you think. It won’t make you cry. It might make you laugh. Or it might make you stop reading my stuff altogether. Whatever. I just want to post it, it’s my blog, and I can post if I want to.

I’ve changed all the names to protect the innocent (because even though I’m willing to put myself out there, the other parents in the class might not be):

Hello Everyone. It’s me, Christan, your friendly homeroom coordinator for Mrs. Brown’s class. I hope you easily made the transition from October to November, from spring forward to fall back.

I foresee this being a long email, and for that I’m sorry. If you don’t have time read it now, mark it as unread and come back to it after the kids are in bed and you’re having your nightly cup of tea, or hot cocoa, or, um, adult beverage. Either way,I beg you to stick with me and read it to the end. It has a lot of information. AND I promise to make it worth your while if you read all the way to the end. Really. 🙂

1. I had meant to send this out weeks ago, in the form of actual written thank you notes, but it never happened. You know how life is. Sometimes I’m not so great on the follow through. I’ll admit it. So here it is: THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU to those of you who donated and/or helped with the Fall Party. According to Mrs. Brown, it was a success! It would NOT have happened without each and every one of you. So thank you from the bottom of my procrastinating, belated-tendency-laden heart (if it helps, you can imagine this hand-written in little note cards with cute little pumpkins on the front – that was my intention).

2. Winter Carnival is right around the corner. You should have received a green sheet of paper that was sent home with your child about the Classroom Basket. Each class puts together a basket to be auctioned at the Silent Auction. The theme for our basket is “On the Road Again.” If you want to donate, you may purchase an item for the basket and send it with your student before [insert fictional date here]. Here are some ideas I had, but feel free to come up with your own: Emergency Road Kit, Games made specifically for travel in the car, DVDs (because a lot of people have DVD players in their cars), Gift Cards to popular Chain Restaurants, Starbucks gift cards, tire gauge, the fix-a-flat-tire-in-a-can (sorry, I don’t know what it’s called) . . . just imagine anything you’d like to take with you on a long road trip. Snuggie? You betcha – because you can’t drive if you’re covered in a blanket, but you CAN drive if you’re covered in a Snuggie. For sure. IF you don’t want or have time to shop, but you still want to donate, let me know. I’ll be happy to do the shopping for you. And I need a basket. If you want to donate a basket, let me know that ASAP. First one who offers gets to donate it. I don’t need 23 baskets, just one. But a big one.

3. The actual Winter Carnival event is on [insert secondary fictional date here]. However, the PTO needs volunteers . . . for set up, for the event, for things that happen after the event. They asked me to forward this email (the blue text, and btw, I’m all about volunteering just for the pizza – and the kids, of course):

Yada Yada Yada . . . Blah Blah Blah – insert boring and formal PTO letter asking parents to help and offering pizza to volunteers . . .
Ok, it’s me, Christan, the homeroom coordinator again. Are you still there? You are? Great. Moving on . . .

4. The Winter Class Party is scheduled for [insert tertiary fictional date here] . I would absolutely LOVE to have a committee for this party. I want your ideas people! Why? Because those of you who helped with the Fall party completely rocked it. You did! And I know that the Winter party could be even more awesome with your help in planning it. SO, if you want to share your incredible party ideas (I’ll pump you full of caffeine just to get the creative juices flowing), shoot me an email or call by Black Friday (a.k.a. November 26). We’ll try to meet the week after Thanksgiving or the first week in December.

5. Betty Boop (Strawberry Shortcake’s mom) has offered to work on a Winter gift for Mrs. Brown. She, being a teacher herself, had the brilliant (imagine that in an English tone) idea of asking Mrs. Brown at the beginning of the year where she liked to shop, eat, play, etc. She offered to coordinate a gift from the whole class, to which I said, “Yes please!”. I plan to forward your email addresses on to her to coordinate it. IF YOU DO NOT WANT YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS FORWARDED LET ME KNOW ASAP. I promise to make her promise to BCC when she emails the info.

And deep breath . . . FINALLY . . . are you still there? Did you stick with me to the end? Did you? Really? I promised to make it worth your while. And I truly meant it. So here’s how I’m going to do that. I don’t know if this is allowed or legal. But I didn’t know if a candid, silly email was allowed or legal either. So, I’m going to do this anyway and ask for forgiveness later.

If you’re still there . . . I’m thrilled. To show my appreciation, I’m going to do a drawing for those of you who stuck with me. A $25 La Rosa’s Gift Card. That completely covers the 3-4-7 deal (3 medium pizzas for $7 each) and delivery. Can you tell we eat there way too much? By the way, this is not PTO sponsored. It’s out of my own pocket. Just because you guys are awesome and I appreciate you. And like I said, I don’t know if this is allowed. So don’t tell your friends whose kids are in other classes. *wink* Consider this more a “drawing among friends whose children happen to be in the same Kindergarten class”. Yeah. That’s what I’m going with.

Here’s how you get entered:
Shoot me an email at with the Subject: Gimme!
In the message portion of the email, give me a brief summary of what’s in items 2-5 of this email (yep, being sneaky and making sure you read it all, or at least skim it).
Finally (and this is totally optional), use the word “potato” as creatively as possible in a sentence. Just for fun.
Send me the email by [insert quaternary fictional date here].
I’ll put your name in a bowl, and take a video of my daughter drawing the winner’s name a week from now. And I’ll read your creative “potato” sentences. I’ll post it on youtube and email the URL to the participants of the “drawing among friends whose children happen to be in the same Kindergarten class” for all to see who the winner is.

Ok that’s it. Thanks for hangin’ in there. I really do appreciate you guys. You make my job easy.

Christan

So dear readers (if you’re still there), I have two questions for you?

Would YOU drive in a Snuggie?

AND

What would your random “potato” sentence be?

Disclaimer: The drawing mentioned above is only for the parents of my kids in my daughter’s class. I’m not offering it to my readers. Sorry. But maybe I’ll do a Christmas giveaway soon after Thanksgiving . . . so keep checking back!

One response to “Homeroom Mom Email

  1. sarasophie November 13, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    I’m pretty sure I really want to come play at your caffeine! and idea! meeting.

    Party planning is yay 😉
    (and you win the email game)

    –S.S.

Leave a Reply

