Doin' It Halfway Since 1996

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus

Crock Pot Question

I’ve noticed that because of the holidays, many of those triple crock pots are on sale. Like, for the same price as a single crock pot (they’re usually around $100 or more. I’ve seen them for as low as $50). I’ve often thought they would be convenient to have, for parties.

And then the thought hit me . . . what if I used one for each meal of each day? Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and sometimes Dessert? Would I save money? Would we eat out less? Would I find time to do other things that I really want to do (i.e. home school, train for a half marathon, keep up with the house, feed Hubs a warm meal for once)? Will I get burnt out? Can I do it? Will I finally find some food that my kids will eat BESIDES macaroni and cheese?

I think that the answer to all these questions is a big resounding YES!

While the use of a crock pot for a year isn’t a new one: A Year of Slow Cooking,

The use of a crock pot three times a day for a whole year might be. The internet is a vast arena for crock pot recipes. I have a few cook books and magazines. I think I can do it.

And I can write about it.

Would you read it? Would it give you ideas to feed your family better and more easily? What do you think? What parameters should I set for myself?

What do you think dear readers? Sound off.

7 responses to “Crock Pot Question

  1. Melissa Matheson November 17, 2010 at 11:57 am

    I think this is a great idea! I’ve been looking at the tripple crock pots too. I have a large crock pot now and I use it often! I will make a lot more than I need and freeze and label the left overs so Caleb and I can have warm lunches. I have found that crock pot cooking has many benefits! Number 1 I am inexpierenced in cooking so putting everything in a pot and letting it cook slowly all day makes it easy for me. (It also makes the house smell great no matter what is cooking!) Number 2 it gives me a lot more time to do other things around the house and I get to spend a lot more enjoyable time with my boys! (I love this reason!) Number 4 it is easy to sneak in healthy, nutricious vegetables without nagging them to eat it! I’m sure I could go on and on about it, because I’m that boring. Lol Overall I love crock pot cooking its easy and keeps the warm meals comming!

  2. Melanie B. November 17, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Great fun. I love my crock pot, except for last night when we came home to rotting chicken in broth because I plugged the toaster in instead of the crock pot šŸ™‚ Anyhow, I would love crock pot ideas. That baby got us through last year w/the baby. If it weren’t for the handiness of dumping it in a pot in the am and coming home to food, our takeout bill would have been awful!! Bring on the recipes. I actually made one you posted a few weeks ago w/chicken curry, sweet potatoes and coconut rice. Mmmmmmmm. It was really yummy!!

  3. Stephanie November 17, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    I LOVE this idea – you should totally do it! I’d read it and it might inspire me to use my crock pot more!

  4. laura hedden November 17, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    I would read it. I just bought myself a 3 crock pot thing for the party idea… I would love to have more recipes that people have actually tried out on their kids before I do. I’m lazy that way!

  5. Hillary November 18, 2010 at 2:33 am

    Hi! New to your blog (found you through Mama Kat) and I would have to say that cooking with three crockpots would be so interesting! I use mine almost every day because of how hectic it is with a two year old and a two month old. I’d be interested to see what kind of meals could come out of it for breakfast and lunch. I think most of us mamas are all about cheap, quick, and also healthy, so I say go for it!

    • Mama Bear Ping November 18, 2010 at 11:04 am

      My husband was SO on board with the idea (I think he just likes the idea of home cooked breakfast, because I don’t get up to make him breakfast and he’s tired of cereal). But, there are some awesome breakfast slow cook meals that are so good!

Leave a Reply

