Doin' It Halfway Since 1996

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus

Sour Grapes into Fine Wine

Today, I will choose to see the positives in my life instead of the negatives. Today will be a half-full day, even if it’s a half-full glass of wine or coffee or tea . . . whatever the drink of choice is to calm the nerves and have a mommy time out.

Instead of seeing: the messes all over the house.

I will choose to see: signs of life, of playing, of living, of laughing, of imagining, of childhood.

Instead of seeing: the dirty dishes in the sink.

I will choose to see: that we are well-fed and well-nourished.

Instead of seeing: the less than perfect mom body that covers my bones.

I will choose to see: a beautiful vessel that houses the Holy Spirit and serves as the hands and feet of God.

Instead of seeing: the empty roll of toilet paper that I have to change once again.

I will choose to see: that two of my three children are potty-trained and I don’t have to change three sets of diapers.

Instead of seeing: an enemy in my two year-old who refuses to go down for a much-needed nap.

I will choose to see: that my “… struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” (Ephesians 6:12)

Instead of seeing: groceries that need to be put away.

I will choose to see: an abundance of food and the absence of fear as to whether or not I’ll be able to feed my children tonight.

Instead of seeing: the piles of laundry that need to be washed, folded, and put away.

I will choose to see: that we have warm clothing. That I have technology in a washing machine that makes the job so much easier.

Instead of seeing: the bills that have to be paid.

I will choose to see: that we live in a comfortable home with running water, electricity, ability to communicate with our friends and family from afar, and that I have a hard-working husband who has a job to provide all these things.

What will you choose to see today?

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.
6 responses to “Sour Grapes into Fine Wine

  1. Rebecca November 23, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    I absolutely love this post and your sweet blog. Thanks for stopping by today. Many Blessings as you make decisions about school. Let me know if I can do anything for you. We have been to private preschool, public school….now, we are at home. Blessings!

  2. Dianna November 23, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    This makes me think of the post I wrote on Sunday ….when our children are driving us crazy, remember that there are many in the world who desperately want a child.

    Thanks for the beautifully simple reminder!

  3. genny November 23, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Found you through Parenting by Dummies (WW). Loved this positive post!

  4. mangiabella December 17, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    …..sigh…..amen and amen

Leave a Reply

