Doin' It Halfway Since 1996

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus

Mom’s Potato Soup

As winter settles in, sometimes I just feel like a little comfort food. And few foods are more comforting to me than Potato Soup.

With Thanksgiving a week behind me, I still have a few lingering left overs. I thought I’d put them to good use tonight to make my Mother-in-Law’s so-simple-but-not-famous “Mom’s Potato Soup.” I still have some potatoes from the 10-pound bag I got for $1.99 at Kroger. They need to be eaten. I also have a few slices of ham (not in the original recipe) and I’m tired of making sandwiches from it.

A few years back, my mother-in-law, who is phenomenal in the kitchen, lovingly spent many hours writing up and combining her blended family’s most loved recipes. Some from the earlier years, when her boys were kids and some from more recently when she remarried. She’s included recipes from just about everyone (I even made a cameo with my fresher than fresh salsa). It’s a wonderful recipe book that I’ve used many times over. Some include annual traditions and childhood book readings. Others are just recipes eaten on any ordinary day that, when prepared, take us back to fond memories of time spent together as a family.

And the recipe for her potato  soup is one I refer to very often. She says it’s her most requested recipe. And for good reason. It’s so easy to make and so delicious. If you have these staples on hand (which many of us do), try it out. You won’t be disappointed. Just a note: there are no real measurements here. Cook enough for your crowd. I’ve put the ingredients in bold, so you don’t miss one. The words in italics are my additions/variations for tonight’s pot.

Mom’s Potato Soup

Russet Potatoes, peeled and sliced (enough to fill your pot) I used seven medium sized potatoes tonight

1/2 Onion, diced

2 cloves of Garlic, pressed (more if you like)

Put the above ingredients in your pot. Fill the pot with enough water to cover the ingredients. Cook until the potatoes are just soft. The longer you cook them, the more like mush they’ll be. Pour off half the water and replace with milk and  1 tablespoon of butter. This is where I added the chopped up ham slices. You could also put in real bacon bits. Or add no meat at all; it’s just as good without it. Salt and pepper to taste. IMPORTANT: Don’t allow your soup to boil once you’ve added the milk. It will curdle.

Add 2 slices of American Cheese  to each bowl (we used shredded sharp cheddar tonight).

Couple this soup with some crusty bread from your favorite bakery and enjoy. It’s so warm and delicious and good. It’s almost as good as getting a hug from mom herself.

One response to “Mom’s Potato Soup

  1. stephanylw February 25, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    I absolutely LOVE recipes like this! Homemade with love and handed down for generations. Thanks for sharing . . I just bought my big bag of potatoes, so I look forward to trying this recipe out soon!!!

Leave a Reply

