Doin' It Halfway Since 1996

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus

The SAHM Paycheck

I’m a Stay-at-home-mom. While it can be a joy, it’s still a job. The hours are long, the pay is crap, and there’s no such thing as a sick day (which I was reminded of again last week). I don’t get stock options or contribute to a 401K. Paid vacations are non-existent and forget about health insurance. In fact, I haven’t had a real paycheck in a long time.

But I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I get paid in other ways. My “paychecks” have different deductions and bonuses. In the deductions column you’ll find these items: sleep, sanity, a girlish figure, and date nights. The bonus column, however, has many benefits like: two year-old bear hugs, funny five year-old phrases, I love yous, dancing to the end credits from favorite movies, slobbery kisses (of the human variety, not canine).

But my favorite bonus is the one labeled SMILES. I get a lot of those. They come in many forms: during a visit from the tickle monster, when they play nicely enjoying being sisters and friends, while making brownies with Grandma. LOVE the smile. I’ll work harder for the smile. A smile softens the crazed hurry-up-get-your-clothes-on-brush-your-teeth-get-on-your-shoes-why-aren’t-you-moving-faster mama beast and turns her into putty. The kid-smile is SAHM gold.

So, I’m sharing a few of my favorite smile moments with you because I am participating in the Invisalign Teen Bright Smiles Holiday Photo Contest with Dumb Mom at parenting by dummies. Want a chance to win $250 Amazon Gift Code? You gotta do it by midnight tonight.

There are “My mom really is a ROCK STAR!” smiles (Billy Idol, eat your heart out):

There are “At the Park” Smiles:

There are “First Day of School” and “Aren’t our flowers just lovely?” smiles:

There are middle of the night “There’s no way we’re going back to bed anytime soon” smiles:

There are “I just made my first snow man” smiles:

There are “This isn’t a moving box, it’s a boat!” smiles:

There are the “It’s my first birthday and I’ve discovered that I like chocolate cake” smiles:

And finally, there are the “I’m running full-throttle to my mom because I love her” smiles:

These are my pay stubs. I’ve heard that I need to keep these indefinitely because in ten years or so, I may have to report that I was indeed able to make them smile at some point in their lives. I’ve heard that sweet, smiling little girls turn into irrational, unidentifiable, scary creatures after age 11 or 12 (and if my girls are destined to be anything like me, then we’re all in a lot of trouble). But I won’t think about that today. I’ll think about it tomorrow. For now, I’ll let my kids keep thinking I’m a rock star and savor these precious smiles.

7 responses to “The SAHM Paycheck

  1. maddy December 15, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    I hope you aren’t as lucky as I am, my 8 year old, soon to be 9, has already turned into the irrational scary creature! I hope your girls wait until they are at least 13!

  2. Dumb Mom December 15, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    That’s the one benefit of moming all Dudes, they mostly skip the irrational-scary-creature phase in favor of the sleeping eating silent phase. Thanks for linking up and glad you enjoyed the post!

  3. Lois December 15, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Christian, ya get what you expect. My 14 year old is an absolute GEM. Thus far she has not become irrational or unidentifiable. She’s responsible, helpful and a little opinionated… but she comes by that last part naturally. 🙂

  4. Daria December 17, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    My favorite part? I can SO relate to this –

    crazed hurry-up-get-your-clothes-on-brush-your-teeth-get-on-your-shoes-why-aren’t-you-moving-faster mama beast

    LOL – that has been me too many days to count. I especially like the chocolate cake and running full throttle to mom pics. So cute and ones I have in my albums too.

    Thanks for swinging by and commenting on my entry too! I’m glad you liked it.

    http://www.mominmanagement.com/1698/these-faces-light-up-my-life/

  5. mangiabella December 17, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    oh how i loved this post, it is a self sacrificing die to self adventure each and every day….and some days it comes so easily, to be a servant, and other days, I have to fight my inner man. The rewards are great, and the bonuses far outweigh the deductions…..even when I wonder if there is anyway I could possibly be more tired than I am….LOL

  6. Clayton Thomas December 29, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    SAHM paycheck? Sounds like you are worth millions to the little ones. Thanks for sharing this.

    Clay
    http://www.tantrumstroublesandtreasures.blogspot.com

    Twitter: @claylauren2001

  7. Crystal Jigsaw December 29, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Oh, it would be so nice to get a SAHM paycheck wouldn’t
    it!! The amount of work we do, we definitely deserve it, a big one
    at that! Beautiful photographs, thanks for sharing. CJ xx

Leave a Reply

