Doin' It Halfway Since 1996

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus

Post No. 50.

I can’t believe that this is my 50th Post. It’s a little surreal.

I want to thank you for reading, commenting, sending messages and supporting me. I’ve been so blessed to connect with all of you in different ways.

In addition to reaching this milestone in my blog life, the Good Women Project gave me my first opportunity to guest post. It’s on What No One Told Me About Marriage. I’d love for you to check it out and then read some of the other posts by some amazing women (and men). Then go like them on facebook or follow on twitter.

Considering my halfway tendencies, I’m a little surprised that I actually made it to fifty. I’d like to take some time to revisit some of my favorite and more popular posts. But before I do that, I want to give you a little sneak peak into what you might find in the next fifty posts.

First of all, I think it’s time for a design change. I was playing around the other night and made up this header. I don’t know that it’s what I’ll use, but I really like it.

If you stop by and find that things look different, don’t be alarmed. It’s still me, just better looking. I’ve also been toying with the idea of buying the domain name. Which means the web address will change a little bit too.

As far as content goes, I’ll continue posting on the topics near and dear to my heart like, unity among Christian believers, living with depression, keeping it real (for real, and not just saying ‘I’m keeping it real’), parenthood, and marriage. I’m sure as life happens, new topics will surface. For now, one new topic I know will be covered is homeschooling, as we recently became a home-educating family. I hope to make the next fifty posts even better than the first fifty.

In revisiting past blog posts, I’m glad I never limited myself in the beginning. I’ve really enjoyed having the freedom to write about whatever is on my mind at any given time. Many posts have discussed my faith, my struggles, and my depression. Some were just pure fun. I’ve considered giving my blog a more directional path. We shall see where it takes us (because if you’re reading this, you’re on my journey with me, like it or not!). What I’ve discovered is that this blog is more about encouraging others than it is chronicling my life adventures like I had originally thought.

So, to celebrate my blog’s fiftieth post birthday, I present to you some of my most popular and most favorite posts:

My (two) personal favorite post(s) (because I can’t just pick one): What’s your Nekatla? a post creating a metaphor for letting go based on the “Sleeping Lady” mountains in Alaska (it’s a long one and should have been broken up into three or four posts) and Grace for This Moment; Grace for Eternity (and yes, the sign I made is still hanging up in my kitchen).

Most googled search term post: Santa’s Been Naughty!, a post about White Elephant/Yankee Swap/Dirty Santa gift exchanges. From the search terms, people need to know what to buy, how to play, and how to present it to a third grade class.

Most Shared Post (according to WordPress): An Otterbox Fairy Tale (a contest I entered to win an Otterbox Defender case for one of my girls’ iPod Touch 4g, a contest that I did win). However, I suspect that maybe Hug A Veteran’s Wife has actually been shared most (just from what I can tell on Facebook).

The Most Difficult to Write and Share: The Bottom. Beyond the Basement is the post I wrote to share what depression looks like in my life, in my mind. I also want to share that I don’t write about my depression as a cry for help or for people to feel sorry about me. I write about my depression to help those who do not suffer from it understand it better. I also write and share what I do because I know there are others out there who struggle with this ugly beast. I want them to know that they aren’t alone. I want them to know that there is help.

So, again, thanks for stopping by. I’m so glad that you did. I can’t wait for the next fifty posts and how things will change between now and 100. I’m so thankful you’re along for the journey.

2 responses to “Post No. 50.

  1. Kay Pelham May 13, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Congratulations on your 50th! May you have 50 more!
    I owe you an email, I know. I’m sitting here in a hotel room catching up with emails and blogs and such. Maybe I’ll find time to read your really long post about Nekatla. That’s sounds interesting — if only to find out what a Nekatla is.

    Kay

  2. mangiabella May 18, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    happy 50th sweet bella, you are a treasure. I just celebrated my one year blogoversary today, but have not made it to my 50th post yet LOL….one day at a time 🙂 2 babies two and under and one more on the way keep me busy, you know all about that 🙂 but I look forward to that 50th post ~ thanks for shining your light in my corner of the world

Leave a Reply

