Doin' It Halfway Since 1996

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus

I Have These Friends . . .

Since marrying my guy, our little family has been transient. As exciting as gypsy living is, it is also equally heart wrenching. Having lived many different places, we know many different people. This means that we’re always missing someone. It also means that we have to say goodbye, a lot.

Right now I’m on the road, mostly visiting family. But I had the lovely pleasure of visiting my good friend Renata for a few hours this afternoon. I haven’t seen her in at least two years (her blog is new, her Etsy shop darling, and her heart, amazing – take some time to check her out). I’m kicking myself that I didn’t take a picture of the two of us together today.

Over cups of coffee and tea, we shared the last two years’ history, discussed our struggles, laughted at the craziness of motherhood, and shed a few tears. We both commented at how different life looks and feels and tastes and is than we expected it might be years ago when we had more youth, more health, and freshly optimistic dreams (more on that later).

As I do whenever we visit, I left her home refreshed and encouraged. And while some of the things we discussed left both our hearts heavy, I also felt so grateful to have a friend like this in my life.

In fact, I am blessed to have many friends like this in my life, my eternal friends. Time can pass, years even, without communication. But it doesn’t matter. The friendship transcends time. An email, a phone call, an instant message session, or a face-to-face encounter is only an excuse to pick up the friendship and start right where we left off before. There is no awkwardness, no need for small talk, no weirdness. Just two friends reuniting in the love of Christ.

In these moments, I get a little taste of heaven. This fellowship in part makes me long for fellowship in its entirety.

I have these kindred spirits tucked away all over the country and world. Different in every way, God has used them to love, encourage, challenge and convict me. They’ve shared my joy, held my hands, prayed for and with me, seen me at my worst, rejoiced with me at my best. They know my secrets. They laugh at my lame jokes. They get me. They each hold a piece of my heart and play various roles in my life’s history. I can only hope that I have blessed them a fraction as much as they have blessed me. Without these people, I would not be who I am.

I am a procrastinator by nature. I don’t call nearly enough. I’m not the best at correspondence. I hope that these friends know how much I love them and care about them. I’m thankful for things like texting and iPhones and Facebook and email. Keeping up with everyone is a little easier. I don’t always do it well, but I try. And I’m never sorry when I do.

What about you? Who is that person who you need to call or email or text? Don’t wait. Shoot a message now. Set a date to have coffee, even if it has to be miles apart over skype or face time. Pick up your friendship, dust it off, and remember the joy of having a friend who knows you well.

2 responses to “I Have These Friends . . .

  1. Larry Hehn May 30, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    I haven’t seen my friend Ian in years. We’re like brothers. Unfortunately, we usually do go years without seeing each other, just because life happens. Then when we get together again, it’s like we had never been apart. It’s definitely time to give him a call. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

