Doin' It Halfway Since 1996

being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus

Strawberry-Watermelon Ice Lollies

Summer is here. It was a rough start. But yesterday was a wonderful reminder that even in the midst of trouble, life does go on and it’s still good.

My status on facebook yesterday read: “Signs that summer is here: little girls wearing flip flops and sundresses, a week of Vacation Bible School, swim lessons, enjoying a quarter of a humongo watermelon as a before bedtime snack, and watching fireflies in the backyard. Le sigh.”

I remember years ago (like two kids ago) perusing through Martha Stewart’s magazine and stumbling upon this recipe for Watermelon Pops. I have since considered making these whenever we have watermelon. However my kids are watermelon fiends and they rarely leave freshly cut watermelon uneaten.

But tonight, we cut open our first watermelon of the season. It was so sweet and juicy. And it was gargantuan.

They had a few wedges, took a bath and went to bed. There was still 3/4 of a watermelon left (it’s seriously huge).

Then I had the brilliant idea that I would be the cool mom in the morning if I offered watermelon popsicles (or ice lollies, as my daughter has named them) for breakfast.

Then I had an even brillianter idea (that would be two light bulbs instead of just one) to add in some strawberries to the mix.

And this was born. Frozen summertime bliss on a stick. Because everything is better on a stick.

Strawberry-Watermelon Ice Lollies

2 cups chopped watermelon

2 cups sliced strawberries

4 tablespoons sugar (or sweetener of your choice)

Water as needed (I put water enough to get to the 5-cup setting on my blender pitcher)

Blend in a blender to liquefy.

Spoon off the froth that forms on the top.

Pour into Popsicle Molds.

Freeze.

Serve.

Although I used 4 tablespoons of sugar (the strawberries were a little tart, I might have been able to use less sugar had they been sweeter), I think this is a healthier and cheaper alternative to what’s in the stores. I anticipate that they will be gone by the end of the weekend. And I won’t feel guilty about that in the least.

My popsicle molds, the blue/green and pink/yellow I purchased at IKEA for something like $1.49 each. The others are Tupperware brand (and a super fun lead up to our upcoming trip to Disney).

Just a side note: Apparently, my family has misplaced a few of our molds. So, this recipe would have made 18 ice lollies. However, I only had 15 molds. What’s a girl to do? Pour the excess into a glass, add a small amount of Cointreau, and make herself an, ahem, adult beverage.

Second side note: These are a little watery. If you prefer a thicker fruit pop, work in batches (like good ol’ Martha suggests) and use a little less water. I may try that next time.

One response to “Strawberry-Watermelon Ice Lollies

  1. Alea Milham August 9, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    These sound wonderful! I am going to make some tonight.

Leave a Reply

